Taking on Benoit Paire in a contest to reach the fourth round of the competition, the world number four put on a show on the Rod Laver Arena. Only
Taking on Benoit Paire in a contest to reach the fourth round of the competition, the world number four put on a show on the Rod Laver Arena. Only dropping one set against the Frenchman, Tsitsipas saw out victory in just 2h 42 mins.
The Greek player was on course for a straight-set win but lost a decisive tiebreak in the third set, winning 6-3, 7-5, 6-7 (2/7), 6-4.
However, shortly following the victory a hilarious gaffe occurred where the Greek player failed to realise he had won the match.
Walking over to the baseline to prepare for the next point, Tsitsipas was caught off guard when the umpire called ‘game, set, match’.
Brad Stine said in commentary: “Guys that was wild, Stefanos literally did not know that he had won the match there.”
“It was funny because Benoit was staring him down, it looked like he [Tsitsipas] was going to go get his towel before he came to shake hands and Benoit actually looked a little irritated like, ‘Come shake hands, man, what are you doing?’
“Then he turned around and saw Benoit at the net and realised what was happening.”
The latest gaffe comes after Nick Kyrgios was reportedly “accosted” in the locker room after he and his doubles partner Thanasi Kokkinakis defeated Croatian top seeds Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic in the second round.
Pavic in particular was critical of the way the Aussie crowd behaved during the match.
READ MORE: Kyrgios teases Pavic with boisterous crowd cheer – ‘P****d off’
Tiley was then asked whether it was not unusual for a coach to threaten a player, to which he clarified: “No. We’ll look closely at that, we’ll continue to look closely at that.
“As I said, I’ve spoken to Nick and Thanasi.
“What’s not unusual and what’s not uncommon is the passion, but certainly there are rules and there’s conditions around how you respond at the end of the match.”